Library Board

Board MeetingsB.C.’s first public library opened in 1891 – since then, they’ve served as community hubs providing access to information, programs and services for British Columbians.

B.C. public libraries are established under the Library Act and are primarily funded by local governments. Provincial government funding is also provided to support public libraries, library literacy programs and shared services initiatives (e.g Library Federations, Resource Sharing, OneCard, the BC Libraries Cooperative). Public libraries and library partners received $14 million from the provincial government in 2016-2017.

In B.C., there are four types of public libraries: municipal libraries, regional library districts, public library associations and integrated public library systems. Each library has a board that is responsible for policy development, strategic direction, governance, hiring and finance.

In Chetwynd we are a public library association. Our volunteer board is built from a representative from the Peace River Regional District, a liaison from the District of Chetwynd Council, elected 8 community volunteers and the Library Director who acts as secretary to the board. To be able to vote at the AGM and to hold a board position you must be 18 years old and a member of the Chetwynd Public Library. 

2017 Board of Directors
Name Board Position
Margaret Movold Chair
Dana Bergen Vice-Chair
Rosa Enes Treasurer
Directors at Large:
Tanya Harmacek
Sara Hoehn
Gloria Millsap
Leslie Panoulias
Jennifer Pierce
Appointed Representative:
Dan Rose
Peace River Regional District
Rochelle Galbraith District of Chetwynd