Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Auto Repair Reference Center covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ. Video Tutorial [4:30 minutes]
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia Codes (in Library Use Only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Canadian Subsidy Directory – The Canadian Subsidy Directory is Canada’s most trusted reference dedicated to provide information leading to financial help, subsidies, grants, loans, joint ventures or any funding program offered by the federal and provincial governments, associations and foundations.
Citation Machine – CITATION MACHINE™ HELPS STUDENTS AND PROFESSIONAL RESEARCHERS to properly credit the information that they use. Its primary goal is to make it so easy for student researchers to cite their information sources, that there is virtually no reason not to.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Electronic Atlas of the Plants of British Columbia – The E-Flora atlas pages provide detailed information on British Columbia’s plant species. To access the pages, conduct a species search using the ‘Species Search Page’ button below. You can search for a single species or a group of species. Use our quick search feature in the window below to call up atlas pages for single species.
Gale Courses – Hundreds of engaging, instructor-led online courses focused on professional development, technology skills, and personal enrichment.
ICBC Driving Test – BC Driving Test – ICBC Knowledge Test. This online ICBC Knowledge Test, with multiple choice questions, is intended to help you prepare for the ICBC Practice Test and Class 7L Learner’s.
InstantFlix – Watch award-winning shorts, features, and documentaries from more than 50 countries. Streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
KnowBC Online (In-Library use only) – Includes the following resources:
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips.
- Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest – A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes.
- The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names – A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia
- Far West – The Story of British Columbia
- Raincoast Chronicles 20 – Lilies and Fireweed: Frontier Women of British Columbia.
- Where Mountains Meet the Sea – A History of Coastal BC
NoveList [EBSCO] – – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages. Video Tutorial [5 minutes]
OneClickDigital – A collection of more than 4,000 downloadable audiobooks from Recorded Books, including 100 Canadian titles from Maple Leaf Audio. These audiobooks are all simultaneous use, with no holds or waitlists. Download titles to your home computer, or to a mobile device using the OneClickDigital app.
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
RB Digital (Formerly Zinio) – Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.
Rocket Languages – With our comprehensive multi-media packages you will be speaking and improving your language skills with every lesson by taking part in the modern, everyday conversations that make up our Interactive Audio Course. In addition, you will learn to speak the language naturally with our language and culture lessons and you can also build on your vocabulary and improve your audio recognition of common words and phrases (and have fun at the same time) with our popular Master Games range.
Sesame Street ebooks – An eBook is a digital version of a printed book. When you read a Sesame Street eBook with your child, you can make story time extra engaging with bright pages, audio narration, interactivity, animation, and more. Best of all, Sesame Street eBooks are ready to read right here, right now!
TechBoomers – TechBoomers.com is a free educational website that teaches older adults and others with limited computer skills how to use the most popular websites on the Internet. The website has over 100 free courses on many different types of websites and apps: Social, Entertainment, Online Shopping, Education, and more. A few of our popular courses include Facebook, Netflix, Ancestry, and Internet Safety.
TumbleBooks – a collection of animated, talking picture books with interactive puzzles and games for kids. HAPPY TUMBLING!
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (In Library Use Only) Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.
World Book Encyclopedia – All of these products are available for your use:
- World Book Online Info Finder. Video Tutorial [22:04 minutes]
- World Book Online Reference Center. Video Tutorial [15:52 minutes]
- World Book Online For Kids. Video Tutorial [13:43 minutes]
- L ‘Encyclopédie Découverte. Video Tutorial [4:45 minutes]
- Early World of Learning. Video Tutorial [8:15 minutes]
- World Book Discover. Video Tutorial [11:28 minutes]