Skip to content



An image that describes the purpose of Library Board Meetings and includes a link to the meeting minutes page.B.C.’s first public library opened in 1891 – since then, they’ve served as community hubs providing access to information, programs and services for British Columbians.

B.C. public libraries are established under the Library Act and are primarily funded by local governments. Provincial government funding is also provided to support public libraries, library literacy programs and shared services initiatives (e.g Library Federations, Resource Sharing, OneCard, the BC Libraries Cooperative). Public libraries and library partners received $14 million from the provincial government in 2016-2017.

In B.C., there are four types of public libraries: municipal libraries, regional library districts, public library associations and integrated public library systems. Each library has a board that is responsible for policy development, strategic direction, governance, hiring and finance.

In Chetwynd we are a public library association. Our volunteer board is built from a representative from the Peace River Regional District, a liaison from the District of Chetwynd Council, elected 8 community volunteers and the Library Director who acts as secretary to the board. To be able to vote at the AGM and to hold a board position you must be 18 years old and a member of the Chetwynd Public Library. 

Board of Directors

  • Chair: Zach Sheridan-Carr
  • Vice-Chair: Dan Rose
  • Secretary: Melissa Millsap, Library Director
  • Directors at Large: Tanya Harmacek (New Library Project Rep.), Kelly Wilson (New Library Project Chair, NELF Rep), Krixia Padilla (Fundraising), Wendy Fontaine, Eileen McPherson, Victoria Peterson
  • Appointed Representatives: Dan Rose (Peace River Regional District), Julia Nelson (District of Chetwynd)

Governing Documents